Origins of the Valley Writers' Guild

The Valley Writers' Guild started when four members of a critiquing group known as 'The Closet Writers' decided to expand.  The four writers - Fleur Eenkhoorn, Elizabeth Irving, Joy Hewitt Mann and Mollie Pearce McKibbon wished to provide a networking group to accomodate St. Lawrence Seaway writers.  Previously, these writers would have to travel to Ottawa in order to contact other writers.  The initial meeting was in South Mountain, Ontario and attracted seventeen writers.  Subsequent meetings were held in Spencerville and Kemptville.  Kemptville was chosen as the most central location.  The VWG grew to over 100 members and writers came from as far away as Brockville and Cornwall, Ontario.  The group which is much smaller now, still meets in Kemptville, every third Sunday in the month in the meeting room above Jonsson's Independent Grocers on county road 43.  There is plenty of parking and both stair and elevator access.  The group meets from 2 pm to 4pm.  Visitors are welcome but there will be  a $5 charge if we are having a speaker.

The Joker's Wild Humour Writing Contest

The Joker's Wild Contest Winners for 2010:
Adult Contest:

Winner - Terry Cappelle  for "A Bear Speaks"

2nd Prize - Terry Cappelle for " Pug"

3rd Prize - Steve Thompson for "Bar Fly"

HM - Steve Thompson for " The Strapless Evening Gown"

HM - Gary Miller for " The Apple Tree"

Children's Contest:

Winner - Lauren Nickerson for "Parisian Dancer"

2nd        - Jacob Nickerson for "Alfred's Socks"

3rd         - Joshua Nickerson for "Silly Slug"

HM       - Melissa Nickerson for "The Man With Twenty Kids"